Cooking class with Kylie Kwong

Standard

Yesterday was a day for cooking inspiration. A small group of lucky foodies were treated to a cooking lesson from Kylie Kwong, courtesy of the Harris Farm Market at Boronia Park.  Kylie Kwong is one of Australia’s most successful and most loved chefs.  For those not familiar with Kylie Kwong, she has a restaurant called Billy Kwong in Sydney, a cooking show on TV, and many cookbooks to her name. Kylie is of Cantonese heritage, and bases her recipes on traditional Cantonese food, as well as asian twists on foods from elsewhere around the world.

As a chef, Kylie is very appealing.  Her focus is on fresh quality ingredients, with an emphasis on organic and fair trade products.  She is a strong advocate of sustainable food and ethical eating. At Billy Kwong she uses locally grown organic and biodynamic produce. She has been an Australian ambassador for Fair Trade for six years.

Kylie does eat meat, but not a great deal.  She identifies with a vegetarian diet and has many gorgeous recipes in her repertoire for vegetarians. Her mastery of tofu is amazing! She has a very light touch in her cooking – her food isn’t heavy or gluggy, and it never has that “same dish, different meat” thing that average Chinese restaurants so often offer.  She demonstrates how very broad real Chinese cuisine is.

Kylie is also very appealing as a person.  Her cooking shows are fabulous, partly due to her great food, but also because of who she is.   She exudes warmth, and friendliness.  She tells many stories about her life and her family.  Her mum makes frequent appearances on the show.  You just feel good listening to her chat about life in general while she cooks up a storm!

Yesterday was part of a promotional tour for Kylie’s latest cookbook – which of course I HAD to buy (it is gorgeous!).  Kylie  cooked 4 dishes. As she cooked she talked – about all sorts of things: the benefits of freshness and quality in the ingredients, stories about dishes she has enjoyed in China, the role and importance of family in her life, the passing on of cooking traditions through the generations, and of course, things to think about when cooking each dish. She talked a lot about Chinese food being easy to cook, as long as you focus on the balance between sweet, sour, salt and acidity. She also talked about the importance of tasting as you cook. Clearly a sensitive palate is a big part of knowing when you have a dish just right!

Wal wanted a barbecue last night, so I marinated pork chops in sweet soy sauce, sesame oil, garlic, shallots and ginger, and made the salad that Kylie made,  The two surprise ingredients for me in this salad were the raw bok choy (I am pretty sure I have only ever seen recipes for it cooked) and tomatoes (which I just never associate with Chinese cuisine).  This salad is as delicious and refreshing as it is healthy.

Recipe

  • 270 g Chinese cabbage, finely shredded
  • 2 spring onions, cut into fine julienne strips
  • 1 bok choy, trimmed and finely sliced
  • 1 small bulb fennel
  • 1/2 bunch of mint
  • 1/2 red capsicum,  cut into fine julienne strips
  • 1 lebanese cucumber, seeded,  cut into fine julienne strips
  • pinch salt and pepper (Kylie uses Sichuan Pepper)

Combine all ingredients in a large bowl and mix well. Toss with dressing immediately before serving.

Tomato Dressing

  • 2 T light soy sauce
  • 1 T brown sugar
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • 1/3 grapeseed oil
  • 3 ripe tomatoes, finely diced

Combine soy sauce, brown sugar and lemon juice in a small bowl and whisk until sugar is dissolved.  Continue whisking as you slowly drizzle in the oil until it is all incorporated.  Add tomatoes and stir to combine.

Recipe adapted from Kylie Kwong / Simple Chinese Cooking Class. Sydney : Lantern, 2012.

About baking bohemian

My name is Jen and I am the baking bohemian. My blog identity comes from the cultural background of my mother’s family, (Bohemian), and my mother’s more left wing lifestyle (bohemian). The big ‘B’ Bohemian refers to the rich cultural heritage of our family that emigrated from Bohemia when it was still its own country (it now comprises two thirds of the Czech Republic). Food featured prominently in the family and broader social life of that part of my family. No social interaction was without sustenance, and any celebration, large or small, was an invitation to cook up a storm. My own family emigrated from the United States to Australia when I was a child. For the most part we lived with our mother, and my dad eventually moved back to the US. The little ‘b’ bohemian relates to the semi-alternative lifestyle we led with our mother. I hesitate to refer to her as a hippy, for that conjures up so many misconceptions, but certainly she was on that side of the fence. She was probably more eccentric than radical at the end of the day, but she could really cook. We always set extra plates at the dinner table because inevitably people would visit at dinner time. I started cooking when I was about eight. Cookies. Obviously I was motivated by desire! I loved cooking, I loved that the kitchen was always, in every way, the heart of the house, so I was always part of anything else that was happening while I was cooking. I loved people loving my food. With all the different things that I have done in my life and am interested in, food has remained my most consistent and enduring passion.

6 responses »

  1. I love this blog Jen and reading what your doing and ofcoarse what you’re cooking! its like look through a small window of your life. Hope it comes out in a book

  2. Thank you for the recipe Jen! I love cabbage salads. The recipe looks delicious and I am going to try it!

Leave a Reply

