Chicken Vegetable Quiche

Standard

Chicken Vegetable QuicheWal is asking about the eggplant.  Apparently all those soft brown squishy bits aren’t enough to confirm that it is past its prime.  Wal doesn’t cook much.  So moussaka is off the menu for tonight.  When all else fails, if you have eggs you can make something, so tonight we’re having quiche.

Recipe

Pastry

  • 1 c wholemeal flour
  • 1/2 c wholemean self-raising flour
  • 125 g butter
  • 1-2 T cold water, roughly

Rub flour and butter together.  If you don’t have a pastry cutter and don’t like using fingers, a fork will also work! Once well mixed and crumbly, add enough to make it stick together into a dough. Cover with cling wrap for 20 minutes to rest.  Press the pastry into a 24cm pie pan – you can roll it but it’s a rustic looking dish so I don’t bother…  Place baking paper over the pastry and fill with bakers beads, or dry beans or rice and cook in a moderate oven for 8 minutes.  Remove beads and paper and cook for additional 7 minutes.

Filling

  • 6-8 button or Swiss brown mushrooms
  • 1/2 small red capsicum
  • 1/2 small head of broccoli
  • 3/4 c cooked chicken – chopped
  • 1/2 c continental parsley
  • 4 eggs
  • 3/4 c sour cream
  • 1/3 c milk
  • salt and pepper
  • 3/4 c tasty cheese, grated

Saute mushrooms and capsicum til soft, and steam broccoli til just cooked. Spread mushroom mixture evenly over pastry. Place chicken and broccoli pieces evenly on top. Whisk eggs, sour cream, milk, salt and pepper, and pour carefully over the pan, making sure vegetables stay evenly arranged.  Spread parsely and cheese evenly over the top.  Bake in moderate oven for about 25-30 minutes, or until set.  Serve with peppery rocket, parsley and tomato salad.

About baking bohemian

My name is Jen and I am the baking bohemian. My blog identity comes from the cultural background of my mother’s family, (Bohemian), and my mother’s more left wing lifestyle (bohemian). The big ‘B’ Bohemian refers to the rich cultural heritage of our family that emigrated from Bohemia when it was still its own country (it now comprises two thirds of the Czech Republic). Food featured prominently in the family and broader social life of that part of my family. No social interaction was without sustenance, and any celebration, large or small, was an invitation to cook up a storm. My own family emigrated from the United States to Australia when I was a child. For the most part we lived with our mother, and my dad eventually moved back to the US. The little ‘b’ bohemian relates to the semi-alternative lifestyle we led with our mother. I hesitate to refer to her as a hippy, for that conjures up so many misconceptions, but certainly she was on that side of the fence. She was probably more eccentric than radical at the end of the day, but she could really cook. We always set extra plates at the dinner table because inevitably people would visit at dinner time. I started cooking when I was about eight. Cookies. Obviously I was motivated by desire! I loved cooking, I loved that the kitchen was always, in every way, the heart of the house, so I was always part of anything else that was happening while I was cooking. I loved people loving my food. With all the different things that I have done in my life and am interested in, food has remained my most consistent and enduring passion.

Leave a Reply

