An award!

Standard

I arrived down south with the sprogs a few days ago, but without my mobile internet stick.  Horror!  Even being down here away from it all I couldn’t dispel that niggling sense of unease that comes with being disconnected.  I’m not super geekie or into all things network, but I do need to have my daily hit of blogging, emailing and generalised surfing.  Kind of like my morning coffee…  So when Wal arrived, connectivity in hand, I couldn’t wait to fire up the laptop.

It was a very exciting and lovely surprise to be greeted with the Versatile Bloggers award!  Thank you to Carla Sue from eat sweet!

Carla bakes the most scrumptious sweet treats – and they look fabulous too! I am looking forward to trying out a number of her recipes. I think my first indulgence will have to be the peanut butter brownie cookie sandwiches:

peanut butter brownie cookie sandwiches.

Part of getting this award means sharing 7 things about myself:

  1. I have 2 kids.
  2. I have 2 cats.
  3. I have 2 boats.
  4. I love boats: afternoons of food, wine and spectacular views out on the water.  What could be a better way to spend a day?
  5. I love the south coast of New South Wales.
  6. I love Sydney Harbour.
  7. I love and devour books and magazines – about anything: fiction, biographies, cookbooks, gardening, craft, nature, boating, birds, etc. etc.

Another part of getting this award is that I get to nominate 15 other blogs for this award too!  Here is my list – and if you would like to nominate this award to some of your favourite blogs, please do! (see the rules for the Versatile Blogger Award at the end of the post). Congratulations on your great blogs!

Books, cupcakes, and cats …

Baking Makes Things Better

thejodester

petit4chocolatier

Words and Herbs

The Seaside Baker

The Saucy Apron

eclectic faerie

six degrees north

Life Seeds

Daily Illuminations

Daydream Believing

installari

Alice in Baking Land

Grace Cakes

Versatile Blogger Award – Rules for Winners

1. Thank the person who gave you the award and link back to their blog.

2. Choose fifteen blogs to nominate and let them know by leaving a comment.

3. Request that the chosen blogs pass on the award to their favourite fifteen.

4. Copy and paste the award on your blog post.

5. List seven things about yourself.

About baking bohemian

My name is Jen and I am the baking bohemian. My blog identity comes from the cultural background of my mother’s family, (Bohemian), and my mother’s more left wing lifestyle (bohemian). The big ‘B’ Bohemian refers to the rich cultural heritage of our family that emigrated from Bohemia when it was still its own country (it now comprises two thirds of the Czech Republic). Food featured prominently in the family and broader social life of that part of my family. No social interaction was without sustenance, and any celebration, large or small, was an invitation to cook up a storm. My own family emigrated from the United States to Australia when I was a child. For the most part we lived with our mother, and my dad eventually moved back to the US. The little ‘b’ bohemian relates to the semi-alternative lifestyle we led with our mother. I hesitate to refer to her as a hippy, for that conjures up so many misconceptions, but certainly she was on that side of the fence. She was probably more eccentric than radical at the end of the day, but she could really cook. We always set extra plates at the dinner table because inevitably people would visit at dinner time. I started cooking when I was about eight. Cookies. Obviously I was motivated by desire! I loved cooking, I loved that the kitchen was always, in every way, the heart of the house, so I was always part of anything else that was happening while I was cooking. I loved people loving my food. With all the different things that I have done in my life and am interested in, food has remained my most consistent and enduring passion.

4 responses »

  1. Thank you very much for the recognition; it is appreciated! You made my day!

    There are many blogs that I appreciate for different reasons within an assortment of categories that I would not be able to nominate and acknowledge only 15 at this time.

    Sincerely,

    Judy

  2. Pingback: Awards and red, white and blue treats « Books, cupcakes and cats chasing chipmunks…

Leave a Reply

