Blueberry Orange Nut Bread

Standard

Before I had kids I used to brag that there was no way I would ever turn into a team sport groupie.  In particular, I claimed that I would never ever EVER become a soccer mom. But then, Sprog No.1 became addicted to the game. My little soccer player lives to play.  There is no such thing as too much soccer.  He plays two games per week, trains three times, he plays in the back yard and at school, he plays soccer on the Wii and iPod, and he watches it on TV. He dreams of playing for Australia.

One day at a game I heard a loud raucous voice screeching “just kick the ball!!”. For split second I thought “who was THAT?”, and then I realised it had happened.  I had morphed into a Soccer Mom without even seeing it coming.

I have since learned the value of having a chair and a magazine so that I can distance myself from the very tense games!
Now the soccer season hasn’t quite drawn to a close, so I still have oranges to use up. This week’s game didn’t end well, so I had a sad little soccer player to bring home.  So this was a little treat for him, a bit of  comfort food while licking his wounds…

This loaf is adapted from a very old recipe of my grandmother’s.  She loved making all sorts of bread, especially sweet breads. This one is quite dense, has a lovely deep colour and a texture very much like a yeast bread.

Recipe

  • 1 ½ sifted plain flour
  • 1 ½ wholemeal flour
  • 3 t baking powder
  • 1 t salt
  • ¼ t baking soda
  • ¾ c raw sugar
  • 3 eggs, well beaten
  • 2/3 c orange juice (fresh is best, and pulp is OK)
  • ½ c milk
  • ½ c melted butter
  • 1 c fresh or frozen blueberries (don’t defrost if using frozen)
  • 1/2 c roasted cashews, chopped (I crush lightly with mortar and pestle)

Preheat oven to 175C and line a loaf pan with baking paper.

Sift dry ingredients together in a large bowl. In a separate bowl, combine well beaten eggs with juice, milk and melted butter. Pour egg mixture into the dry ingredients and mix well. Add berries and nuts. Pour into pan and back for about 45 minutes or until browned and a skewer inserted comes out clean.

About baking bohemian

My name is Jen and I am the baking bohemian. My blog identity comes from the cultural background of my mother’s family, (Bohemian), and my mother’s more left wing lifestyle (bohemian). The big ‘B’ Bohemian refers to the rich cultural heritage of our family that emigrated from Bohemia when it was still its own country (it now comprises two thirds of the Czech Republic). Food featured prominently in the family and broader social life of that part of my family. No social interaction was without sustenance, and any celebration, large or small, was an invitation to cook up a storm. My own family emigrated from the United States to Australia when I was a child. For the most part we lived with our mother, and my dad eventually moved back to the US. The little ‘b’ bohemian relates to the semi-alternative lifestyle we led with our mother. I hesitate to refer to her as a hippy, for that conjures up so many misconceptions, but certainly she was on that side of the fence. She was probably more eccentric than radical at the end of the day, but she could really cook. We always set extra plates at the dinner table because inevitably people would visit at dinner time. I started cooking when I was about eight. Cookies. Obviously I was motivated by desire! I loved cooking, I loved that the kitchen was always, in every way, the heart of the house, so I was always part of anything else that was happening while I was cooking. I loved people loving my food. With all the different things that I have done in my life and am interested in, food has remained my most consistent and enduring passion.

2 responses »

  1. That sounds devine – I love that combination of orange and berry. I will try it out. I could easily convert that to a Thermomix recipe too. Does it work well if toasted and buttered the next day or is it best eaten like a cake while still fresh?

Leave a Reply

