An Aussie Halloween

Standard

Ultimately, this post is about a pumpkin.  Not a pumpkin that we have eaten, but I figure that since pumpkin is actually edible, this post belongs on a food blog!

Coming to Australia as a child, there were so many things I missed about America.  Halloween was a big one.  What child couldn’t love Halloween?  Getting dressed up in costumes, decorating everything in sight, cutting up and lighting the pumpkins, and … candy candy candy! Heaven!

But back then, NO ONE celebrated Halloween here. Everyone knew what it was but it hadn’t caught on. The chocolate and candy here weren’t the same or as varied.  There was no candy corn, a personal childhood favourite, no Hershey’s,  and even M&Ms hadn’t come here by then. And the only pumpkins were big funny shaped blue pumpkins.

They taste good but just didn’t appeal for carving.  The one saving grace was that for the first 4 or 5 years, my grandmother used to post us a big box of American munchies. Bless her!

Halloween still isn’t huge here, but it is getting bigger every year.  Nowadays you do see houses decorated and kids do go out trick or treating, especially in our little pocket of the world for some reason.

For the first time since I can remember, the local shops were selling American pumpkins!! We won’t talk about the OUTRAGEOUS price being charged, but these were proper big round bright orange easy to cut American pumpkins and when my daughter saw them she HAD to have one! The kids had so much fun (with some help from Wal) gutting the big fella and carving a face into him.

And, today, the kids were allowed to go to school in costumes – lots of fun for kids who are used to wearing school uniforms!

Of course this is the Sunburnt Country, and while we are a long way from the summer heat, Halloween is different in the heat.  Think sweat-streaked makeup, sticky wet costumes, and of course the chocolate (and the pumpkin while off duty) requiring refridgeration!

So happy Halloween everyone.

This post dedicated to Darlene and  the Prof, and The Cousins! with love xx

About baking bohemian

My name is Jen and I am the baking bohemian. My blog identity comes from the cultural background of my mother’s family, (Bohemian), and my mother’s more left wing lifestyle (bohemian). The big ‘B’ Bohemian refers to the rich cultural heritage of our family that emigrated from Bohemia when it was still its own country (it now comprises two thirds of the Czech Republic). Food featured prominently in the family and broader social life of that part of my family. No social interaction was without sustenance, and any celebration, large or small, was an invitation to cook up a storm. My own family emigrated from the United States to Australia when I was a child. For the most part we lived with our mother, and my dad eventually moved back to the US. The little ‘b’ bohemian relates to the semi-alternative lifestyle we led with our mother. I hesitate to refer to her as a hippy, for that conjures up so many misconceptions, but certainly she was on that side of the fence. She was probably more eccentric than radical at the end of the day, but she could really cook. We always set extra plates at the dinner table because inevitably people would visit at dinner time. I started cooking when I was about eight. Cookies. Obviously I was motivated by desire! I loved cooking, I loved that the kitchen was always, in every way, the heart of the house, so I was always part of anything else that was happening while I was cooking. I loved people loving my food. With all the different things that I have done in my life and am interested in, food has remained my most consistent and enduring passion.

8 responses »

  1. Hi Jenn, I remeber having my first taste of pumpkin pie at your place. It was okay but peas in aspice is still disgusting!! I love your blog as it brings back so many happy memory’s. We got hit up by little dressed up people twice tonight. It was a quick hunt in the cupboard to find some lollies, second lot of kids grabbed them and they turned on their heel and left without a word. Perhaps edicate of receiving goodies on Halloween should be spread too. Love La.

  2. It’s hard to imagine a summer Halloween. My kids all had winter coats under their costumes. The cold didn’t stop them, and they trick or treated the neighborhood for hours. Anne came home with a pillow case filled with candy! Happy Halloween to your your family! Love, Lisa

Leave a Reply

