Hot Cross Buns

Standard

Hot Cross Buns

Happy Easter everyone!  I hope the day was filled with the joy of life, and perhaps some chocolate!

Most years I actually make chocolate for Easter.  While I am not averse to buying good chocolate I usually make something a bit special to maximise the indulgence factor.  This year I bought new chocolate moulds and a range of accoutrements in preparation but the inspiration didn’t come.

Instead, this has been the year for hot cross buns.  Wal has always loved them, and would buy them year round if he could, so it seemed about time to offer him some home made buns.  It took a bit of effort to fine tune my recipe to meet the collective family requirements (they are becoming quite the critics, these guys!), but these buns are delicious, if I do say so myself! And as with much of what I cook, they are very easy to make.

Recipe

  • 3/4 c scalded milk
  • 170 g butter
  • 2 T sugar
  • 1 t salt
  • 1/2 c water
  • 1 package dry yeast
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 t cinnamon
  • 3/4 c sultanas
  • 4 c flour, sifted
  • 1 T milk, extra
  • 3 T pre-made almond cake icing

Heat milk to almost boiling. Add butter, sugar and salt and remove from heat.

Add water and leave to cool until lukewarm. Add the yeast and mix. Blend in the egg. Mix in the cinnamon and sultanas.

Gradually add the flour. Mix until well blended and soft.

Leave in oiled bowl in a warm area for 45 minutes to rise.

Preheat oven  to 220C. Place dough on floured board while you work with it. Shape into round balls (recipe will make about 20) and place closely together on lined baking tray. Lightly brush with milk and set aside for 3 minutes. Then, using a sharp knife, cut a cross into each bun.

Bake for 20 minutes. Towards the end of the baking time, knead the icing until it is pliable. Roll into a long thin strip.  Working quickly as soon as you take the buns out, fill the cross cuts with icing strips.

Enjoy them while they are still hot!

Hot Cross Bun plated

About baking bohemian

My name is Jen and I am the baking bohemian. My blog identity comes from the cultural background of my mother’s family, (Bohemian), and my mother’s more left wing lifestyle (bohemian). The big ‘B’ Bohemian refers to the rich cultural heritage of our family that emigrated from Bohemia when it was still its own country (it now comprises two thirds of the Czech Republic). Food featured prominently in the family and broader social life of that part of my family. No social interaction was without sustenance, and any celebration, large or small, was an invitation to cook up a storm. My own family emigrated from the United States to Australia when I was a child. For the most part we lived with our mother, and my dad eventually moved back to the US. The little ‘b’ bohemian relates to the semi-alternative lifestyle we led with our mother. I hesitate to refer to her as a hippy, for that conjures up so many misconceptions, but certainly she was on that side of the fence. She was probably more eccentric than radical at the end of the day, but she could really cook. We always set extra plates at the dinner table because inevitably people would visit at dinner time. I started cooking when I was about eight. Cookies. Obviously I was motivated by desire! I loved cooking, I loved that the kitchen was always, in every way, the heart of the house, so I was always part of anything else that was happening while I was cooking. I loved people loving my food. With all the different things that I have done in my life and am interested in, food has remained my most consistent and enduring passion.

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

