Potato Cauliflower Dill Soup

Standard

Potato Cauliflower Dill Soup

There is nothing like coming home from a holiday to find your home ransacked and burgled. It is such a rude shock to find your personal space violated, and precious keepsakes (worth so much more than money) taken. But the worst part is watching your innocent young children suddenly realise that their home is not the impenetrable sanctuary that they had always thought that it was.

So the sooner we could return to a sense of order and normality the better.

So that night, as an important step in reclaiming our space, we sat down to a quiet, comforting and warming soup.

Recipe

  • 1 med onion
  • 1 T oil
  • 2 large potatoes, washed but not peeled
  • 1 head cauliflower (about 1.2 kg)
  • 2 stalks celery
  • 5 c good quality vegetable or chicken stock (preferably homemade)
  • 2 T finely chopped fresh dill
  • 180 g cream cheese
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Chop onion and sauté in oil until starting to soften.  Add chopped potatoes and celery and 2 cups  of stock.  Bring to boil, then turn down to a simmer and add cauliflower. Cook until cauliflower is soft.

Add dill, cream cheese and salt and pepper and remove from heat. Once cooled enough, blend in a food processor or blender on high speed til as smooth as you like it.  I like to leave mine a little rough and chunky.

Serve with garlic bread.

About baking bohemian

My name is Jen and I am the baking bohemian. My blog identity comes from the cultural background of my mother’s family, (Bohemian), and my mother’s more left wing lifestyle (bohemian). The big ‘B’ Bohemian refers to the rich cultural heritage of our family that emigrated from Bohemia when it was still its own country (it now comprises two thirds of the Czech Republic). Food featured prominently in the family and broader social life of that part of my family. No social interaction was without sustenance, and any celebration, large or small, was an invitation to cook up a storm. My own family emigrated from the United States to Australia when I was a child. For the most part we lived with our mother, and my dad eventually moved back to the US. The little ‘b’ bohemian relates to the semi-alternative lifestyle we led with our mother. I hesitate to refer to her as a hippy, for that conjures up so many misconceptions, but certainly she was on that side of the fence. She was probably more eccentric than radical at the end of the day, but she could really cook. We always set extra plates at the dinner table because inevitably people would visit at dinner time. I started cooking when I was about eight. Cookies. Obviously I was motivated by desire! I loved cooking, I loved that the kitchen was always, in every way, the heart of the house, so I was always part of anything else that was happening while I was cooking. I loved people loving my food. With all the different things that I have done in my life and am interested in, food has remained my most consistent and enduring passion.

6 responses »

  1. That’s terrible to experience. I’ve also been through a house burglary. It’s so hard to not feel extra cautious every time you leave your home.

  2. I am so sorry to hear that you were burglarized. Your soup is lovely and comforting and I am sure it was just what your family needed. I know how you feel having been through that myself.

Leave a Reply

