Vanilla Marmalade Slice

Standard

  My grandmother entertained a lot, and always had people dropping in. She was keen to be the perfect host at all times, and so needed  to have something sweet ready to whip out  at a moment’s notice.  When she baked cookies she always made 3 different varieties so her guests had a selection to choose from.  So that she kept things fresh (and possibly to have an excuse to make more sooner rather than later), she only made half of each recipe at a time.

When I cook I never cook half of anything!  I go for bigger recipes often in the hopes that whatever I make will go some distance. This recipe is one for a large slice tin (25 x 36 cm) and is quite rich (as many of Annie’s recipes are) so you can cut it into smaller bars.

Recipe

  • 340 g butter
  • 5 T good quality marmalade
  • 2 c white SR flour
  • 2 c wholemeal SR flour
  • 3/4 c rolled oats
  • 1 1/2 c sugar

Melt butter and marmalade together.  While butter mixture is melting, combine dry ingredients together and mix well.  Pour butter mixture over dry indredients and  mix until it forms a sticky dough.  Pour into slice tin lined with baking paper and spread evenly over the tin.  Bake at 170 C until golden brown, about 20-25 minutes.  Once cool, ice with thin layer of vanilla icing and sprinkle with cocoa powder.

Vanilla Icing

  • 3 T butter
  • 1 1/2 c pure icing sugar
  • 3/4 t vanilla
  • milk, enough to obtain consistency to spread thinly over the slice

Beat all ingredients til icing is light and fluffy.

About baking bohemian

My name is Jen and I am the baking bohemian. My blog identity comes from the cultural background of my mother’s family, (Bohemian), and my mother’s more left wing lifestyle (bohemian). The big ‘B’ Bohemian refers to the rich cultural heritage of our family that emigrated from Bohemia when it was still its own country (it now comprises two thirds of the Czech Republic). Food featured prominently in the family and broader social life of that part of my family. No social interaction was without sustenance, and any celebration, large or small, was an invitation to cook up a storm. My own family emigrated from the United States to Australia when I was a child. For the most part we lived with our mother, and my dad eventually moved back to the US. The little ‘b’ bohemian relates to the semi-alternative lifestyle we led with our mother. I hesitate to refer to her as a hippy, for that conjures up so many misconceptions, but certainly she was on that side of the fence. She was probably more eccentric than radical at the end of the day, but she could really cook. We always set extra plates at the dinner table because inevitably people would visit at dinner time. I started cooking when I was about eight. Cookies. Obviously I was motivated by desire! I loved cooking, I loved that the kitchen was always, in every way, the heart of the house, so I was always part of anything else that was happening while I was cooking. I loved people loving my food. With all the different things that I have done in my life and am interested in, food has remained my most consistent and enduring passion.

Leave a comment